Congratulations! SAS distinguished teaching award recipients Prof. Sarah Gronningsater and KC O'Hara

Please join us in congratulating our wonderful colleagues in History for receiving 2023 awards for distinguished teaching in the School of Arts and Sciences. For a full list of award recipients, continue reading at the Almanac.


Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by an Assistant Professor













This award recognizes a member of the junior faculty who demonstrates unusual promise as an educator. This year SAS honors Sarah Gronningsater, assistant professor of history. Her renowned course, history of American law to 1877, is routinely over-enrolled and many students describe it as their favorite class offered by the department. “Professor G,” as she is affectionately called by her undergraduates, makes her students feel “seen and acknowledged,” even in a class of 80.


Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by Graduate Students
















This award recognizes graduate students for teaching that is intellectually rigorous and has a considerable impact on undergraduate students. This year’s awardees are:

  • Connor Cassady, Mathematics
  • Lourdes Contreras, French and Francophone, Italian, and Germanic Studies
  • Cheryl Hagan, History and Sociology of Science
  • Jesse Hamilton, Philosophy
  • Oualid Merzouga, Mathematics
  • Clancy Murray, Political Science
  • Keith (KC) O’Hara, History
  • Peter Satterthwaite, Ancient History
  • Cassandra Vu, Chemistry
  • Jacqueline Wallis, Philosophy